“Pines at Fraser Lake 2”

Pines at Fraser Lake II

This is one of my “Trees” Series of photo abstractions taken last year at Fraser Lake Camp. I look for strong vertical elements and diffused light to create a slightly dream like feel caused by the vertical pan. I began using this technique a few years back and it gradually evolved into my favourite style. Because I shoot handheld at varying shutter speeds, I can get some wildly varying results, which makes this even more interesting. The unpredictability of the various elements of the photo coming together in motion often offer surprises that my eye did not pick up. You’ll note the glimpses of blue sky among the treetops and the flashes of bright greens and brown blending together against the sharp dark tree trunks and bright sunshine. The image pulls my eye through a cathedral-like setting to the background where the space between the trees leads to a darker unknown.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 @ 70mm
1/4 sec @f/4.5, ISO 200

Leave a Reply

