“November Frosting”

"November Frosting"

Now that it is finally warming up, I thought I’d take one last look at how this past year’s winter came in. November was fairly mild and offered one light snowfall that quickly melted away in town. The day of the melt, I decided to go out to one of my favourite local trails (East Duffins Headwaters) to get some vertical pans in a grove of trees I have enjoyed on a few occasions. I was surprised to see how much of the snow cover remained in the forest. The grove of tress was my destination, and like so many other hikes, the journey is much better than the destination. The grove of trees, as it turns out, was a disappointment in the end, but I was able to make several beautiful photographs on the surrounding trails, which I will share in subsequent posts.

On this occasion, the trail in was covered in wonderful orange oak leaves and the snow had largely melted off, due mainly to the foot traffic. The bright leaves, combined with the late day light, made the entire scene glow. Even the yellow-green undergrowth seemed alight with sunshine as an archway of snow covered branches stretched above ahead of me. The colours where incredible and I look back on this moment as one of those special times when I was fortunate to have my camera with me so I could save and share the moment.

Nikon D300
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 @ 34mm
1/80sec @f/9.0, ISO 400

Leave a Reply

