“Forest Floor Eruption” – Stouffville Reservoir

cropped-e2809cforest-floor-eruptione2809d-stouffville-reservoir1.jpg

A slightly different view of the forest for you to ponder.

I spend a lot of time in the forest hiking and making photographs. People ask me where I find the wildflowers that I photograph. My response is, “Along the way”. I see them, because I know what to look for, where to look, and when to look, since I have experienced them in previous walks. Many of the flowers only bloom for a short period. So, if you miss them, your chance that year is gone.

A few years ago I went for a walk with a friend who wanted to show me the creek where the trout run. As we walked to the site, which he was very familiar with and had visited many times, I stopped and made several photos. He really had no idea why I kept stopping, until he saw the photos from the walk. He had no idea he had walked past so many beautiful sights. That’s the day I realized that the trick, if that’s what you call it, is to slow down and immerse yourself in your surroundings, to start really ‘seeing’ the finer details. I’ve found that once my eye picks up on a particular flower or plant that I have not seen before, I suddenly see them everywhere. It’s not like they were not there before, I’ve simply tuned in at a different level.

Many experiences in life also seem to be like that. Things go unnoticed until you encounter them once, then you see them easier and know them for what they are. As above, you become an experienced observer.

The photo above contains all the wildflowers I have recently photographed. Can you spot them?

Nikon D300
Nikor 70-300 mm f/4.5-5.6 @ 70 mm
1/125 sec @ f/5.6, ISO 250

Leave a Reply

