“Three Columns – Place d’Armes” – Montreal, Quebec

“Three Columns - Place d’Armes” - Montreal

A simple photo of three columns at Place d’Armes in Old Montreal. The building is directly across the square from the well known Notre-Dame Basilica. I simply enjoyed the form and details of the columns. I’m not sure if this would be street photography, urban, or architectural. Technically, it’s travel photography, though I did not travel far.

What I also find interesting is the fine details that emerge from the photo, not visible in the viewfinder. I did not notice the meshing to keep pigeons off the scroll-work or the bolts stick from the fluting. Yes, thats what the official name of the carved out part of the column is. Something new I learned today. I also learned that the top of this type of column is a Corinthian Capital. Amazing what you can learn when you look at details and want to know more. I feel so enriched 🙂

Nikon D300
Nikor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 @ 165 mm
1/60 sec @ f/5.0, ISO 250

One thought on ““Three Columns – Place d’Armes” – Montreal, Quebec

Leave a Reply

