“A Shift in the Winds” – Stouffville Reservoir

“A Shift in the Winds” - Stouffville Reservoir

September, the month where some days convince you that summer will last for weeks, yet others are  stern reminders that change is inevitable. This holds true this year. After weeks of above average, sweltering days, the temperature plummets and we layer on hats and sweatshirts, wondering if this summer has passed us by.

The saving grace, for me is the gradual change of colours. The once verdant trees begin to shift to shades of orange and yellow. I do like the change and variety this time of year brings with it. I recall the days of new growth and flawless leaves. As I look around me now, those leaves are showing evidence of the hardships of days in sun and heat bring on. Edges are browned and shrivelled. Black spots of age dot the once pristine surfaces, leading to the inevitable fall.

Such was my walk today. The grove of poplars pictured above was a beautiful range of bright greens and yellows and the wind made them dance with life. Above me, a falcon disturbed the sparrows, who fled his hungry eyes with shrill chirps. The whole forest was alive with activity and bathed in glorious golden light.

I was happy to get out with my camera again to enjoy and capture this unique moment and, hopefully, bring some of that joy to others.

Nikon D300
Nikor 70-300 mm @ 95mm
1/4 sec @ f/25, ISO 250

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming

Leave a Reply

