“Post Office Lion”

“Lion Gargoyle” - Post Office, Ottawa

This beautiful statue sits outside the Canada Post Office at Sparks Street and Elgin St.

I was standing outside, waiting for the rest of my group to mail something and thought this might make a nice photo. It was mid-morning and the light was softened by a low cloud deck. All the elements seemed to be aligned. The colour version was quite nice, but I really like him in black and white. All the tones and structure seem so much more pronounced. There is something about stone carvings that appeals to me. I can imagine the artist working on it and carving all the fine details. The other nice feature about this statue that I am more aware of now, is that it is not covered with ‘anti-pigeon’ spikes. I see that in a lot of old buildings lately. It was not something obvious, but when I review the photos I can’t help but notice. The netting and spikes keep the stone clean, but they sure a distraction from the fine workmanship. I guess it’s all about compromise.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70.0-200.0 mm f/2.8 @ 70 mm
1/400 sec @  f/10,  ISO 250

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming

Leave a Reply

