“Conservatory Fountain” – Casa Loma, Toronto

“Conservatory Fountain” - Casa Loma

Another long exposure from my visit to Toronto’s Casa Loma. This one is from the Conservatory. A bright spacious room, with a stunning stained glass domed roof. The Conservatory once once held beautiful plants in all seasons. Today it is largely empty but beautiful, nonetheless. The Conservatory is surrounded by large, ornate windows, has Italian marble floors in pink and grey and the walls are lined with pink Ontario marble, quarried in the Bancroft area.

I was fascinated by the fountain, located in an alcove, which was running very slowly and I wanted to see what the image would look like as a long exposure. By Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 has incredible vibration reduction, so I took my chances on a narrow aperture, long exposure, to see what the final image might look like.

The image above is the result of a 1/8 sec handheld exposure. It freezes the water drops as they fall from the fountain bowls, yet still captures the details of the fountain itself.

I have not been to Casa Loma for about 40 years. My last memory was going there on a school trip, but I remember how grand the building was. It was definitely worth the re-visit.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-200mm @ 155mm
1/8 sec @ f/29, ISO 250

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming

9 thoughts on ““Conservatory Fountain” – Casa Loma, Toronto

  1. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Walks – Indoor or Outdoor | Cee's Photography

  2. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap July 2, 2016 and DP Weekly Photo Challenge-Opposites | Cee's Photography

  3. Becky B

    Brilliant shot . . . . really must play more with my camera but all too often I simply cheat with the auto settings. Seeing photos like yours (and of course always Cee’s) I realise I could do so much more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

