“Sir Henry’s Phone” – Casa Loma, Toronto

“Casa Loma Telephone”

On a recent visit to Toronto’s only castle, Casa Loma, I set out to make my photos with existing light only. It would be an interesting experience, since the castle is filled with so many 20th century items, including more telephones than I could count. It seemed every room and hallway had a phone. I suppose I should not be surprised, since there are 98 rooms in the 64,700 square foot building.

The lighting that day was very nice and I was able to make several photos of rooms and architectural details. This photo really appeals to me. Given the light coming in through the window and the dark to gold tones on the old telephone in Sir Henry Pellat’s Study, I was able to capture the image in a style that resembles a Dutch Golden Age or Baroque style. And, as I look at the image, I can only imagine the conversations that took place on this phone, so many years ago.

As I said earlier, this image was made using existing light only. Something the technology of modern photographic lenses makes possible through advanced image stabilization and fast optics. I was able to shoot this at 1/15th of a second, handheld, which is pretty awesome and opens up so many possibilities.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-200 mm @ 95mm
1/15 sec @ f/2.8, ISO 250

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming

One thought on ““Sir Henry’s Phone” – Casa Loma, Toronto

  1. Pingback: Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 27 – ‘Vintage | Ed Lehming Photography

Leave a Reply

