“Bright December Seedheads” – Seaton Hiking Trail

“Bright December Seedheads” - Seaton Hiking Trail, Whitevale

Time for some brightness in this dull December. After numerous drab, but mild days, the sun finally shone though, albeit for only a few hours. As I looked out my office window at the beautiful warm glow, I decided my lunchtime would be spent on a trail. So, I packed my gear and headed off to the woods.

It’s such a wonderful benefit having all these woodlands so close by that I can step out to recharge without an extended drive.

Today’s all too brief hike took me down the Seaton Trail, just south of Whitevale, Ontario. As I started my walk, the sun was still shining, though it was a bit cooler than expected.

The nice thing about the sun this time of year is that it tends to be more indirect and softer, and it was late enough in the day to bring out the beautiful gold hues in the surrounding fields and meadows. It also afforded the opportunity to shot this scene of dead flowerheads from several angles and choose my favourite. By looking at it, you’d never expect it was made in the second week of December, in Canada. It’s also a nice thought that beauty can come from something that has died, at least on the surface. I hope this image brings some warm to you as well.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-200 mm f/2.8 @ 200mm
1/100 sec @ f/5.0 -0.33, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

