“Elgin Mills Solitaire” – Markham, Ontario

“Elgin Mills Solitaire”

I wish I could paint. There are so many scenes that I see on a regular basis and say to myself, “That would make a beautiful painting”. Especially if the light is just a bit off and I envision the image a bit different.

That was the case with this photo I made a few days ago. All the elements were just right, the light was soft from the west and a bank of clouds hovered low to the east, yet the image did not convey the scene in the same way as it struck me.

So, since I can’t paint, yet, I went to my Photoshop toolbox and started playing with some effects. And, lo and behold, I got the effect I wanted, as if it had been painted. Now, I will have some purists say that this is not photography, and I would agree, it’s art, based on photography. Be it a painting or a digitally manipulated image, it makes no difference to me and I don’t want to be limited by a particular discipline. Does that change how I approach my photography? Not in the least. As I’ve stated many time before: For me, it’s about ‘how’ I see things, rather than what I see. There is so  much more at play than just making an image. I want to be able to communicate how it made me ‘feel’. That, to me is art, and I’m good with it.

Back to the photo, I see many of these lone trees and they have been the subject of several of my photos. I’ve started calling them “Solitaires”, because “lone tree” makes it sound a bit depressing and that there are no other trees around, which is not the case, these ones are simply “apart” from their neighbours.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-200 mm f/2.8 @ 170 mm
1/200 sec, @ f/7.1, ISO 250

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

