“Last Chance” – Moore Lake

Last Chance

I titled this photo as I did for a few reasons. This is the last photo I ever took of my father before he passed away in 1979. He was determined to take a few last casts before he got in the car after a great family vacation on Moore Lake. He asked if I would come with him and take a picture. I complained about the mosquitoes and not wanting to be bitten, but relented and took this shot. Not knowing, at the time, it was not only his last chance at what he loved to do, but my last chance to capture a precious memory. He passed away later that summer.

I found the photo, which I knew I had, with a bunch of other photos from that time period. It was faded and dull. But technology is wonderful and I was able to touch it up and make it presentable. So glad I did not lose it.

Today also happens to be what would have been his 90th birthday. He’s the reason I have such a fond love of nature and all things outdoors. Dad taught me to appreciate the details and the cycles which are ever present. I often imagine him walking along with me, observing the marvels of the outdoors, discovering and celebrating new sights, and those sacred places I go back to time and time again.

So, on this day, December 16th, where he is especially present in my thoughts, I say, “Thanks Dad, for the deep reverence of nature, all you taught me, all the values you instilled in me, and the love you gave me, in your all too brief a time with us. You are ever missed and ever present in the thoughts of those who knew and loved you.”

In Memory of Harry Eugen Lehming 1925-1979

Pentax Spotmatic 35mm
Schneider-Kreutznach Edixa-Xenon 50mm, f/1.9

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website
http://www.edlehming.com

2 thoughts on ““Last Chance” – Moore Lake

Leave a Reply

