“Cloud Shrouded Cliffs” – Yosemite National Park

Cloud Shrouded Clifffs - Yosemite 2013

One of my sacred places is Yosemite National Park, in California. I fell in love with this sanctuary on my first visit in 1990, when my wife and I were just starting to date and I have returned several times since.

The sheer vastness and majesty of this place is difficult to describe. There are literally millions of photos taken here, as other visitors try to capture a fragment in time but few images can do this place justice.

The appearance of the valley, high in the Sierra Nevada, is constantly changing. Between seasons, time of day, and location. The light is almost fluid and, in my limited experience here, the same view rarely repeats itself. We are offered mere ‘moments’ to carry in our images and memories as we journey here.

A case in point is the image above, which was made in May 2013, my most recent visit to Yosemite. It was a cool and misty day, with of and on rain showers and brief intervals of sunshine. The cliffs pictures are just above Currie Village and just right of Upper Yosemite Falls, which were obscured by clouds when this image was made.

The movement of the clouds among the rocks and trees high above the valley was magical as the jagged granite cliffs would reveal themselves and then vanish like revenants behind the next billow. Each wave of mist would reveal, then obscure some new layer, then, like an ethereal set change, it would be gone again, replaced by something completely different and marvellous. I could have spent the whole day transfixed by this phenomenon and never seen the same combination twice.

I was fortunate to capture this image that reveal several layers as well as the raw beauty of the tree topped cliffs. I’m going to return to my beloved park sometime soon to see what further magic it has to offer me.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-300 mm f/2.8 @ 200 mm
1/200 sec, f/5.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Cloud Shrouded Cliffs” – Yosemite National Park

Leave a Reply

