“Keeping Score” – Quebec City

Keeping Score - Old Quebec 2012

While on a walking tour of Old Quebec a few years ago, I came across this man sitting in Parc Montmorency. When I first saw him, I had a front view and he was talking to a lady in a nurse’s uniform and she walked away laughing. I imagine she knew him and they had just shared a joke.

As the tour progressed I came around behind him, at a distance. He was now sitting alone and was writing in a note book. The angle I shot from was ideal and incorporated all sorts of elements which make this, in my option, a wonderful photograph. There is the light reflecting off the bench, the diagonal lines of a staircase in the background, wonderful shadows and textures, and the pigeon (which I did not notice when I made the photo).

This solitary gentleman sitting alone in a park, writing in a book, or journal, pulls me in and has me wanting to know more about him and his situation, like: who is he, why is he sitting on a bench writing, what is he writing. The title came from my imagination as I pictured him sitting there, watching the world around him and keeping score as it unfolded.

Nikon D300
Nikor 70-300 mm f/4.4-5.6, @ 300 mm
1/60 sec, f/5.6, ISO 450

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Keeping Score” – Quebec City

  1. Pingback: ONE WORD PHOTO CHALLENGE: CANDID | Ed Lehming Photography

Leave a Reply

