“Contemplation” – Marble Lake

"Contemplation"  - Marble Lake

Early one morning in late summer 2014, I went down to the lakefront with my daughter. It was one of those typical cool mornings on the lake where the mist from the warm water rises up and just hangs there for a few minutes before rising higher in the sky to become a cloud.

We spent some time on the dock, both making photos of the ethereal beauty of the mist as it moved in an intricate dance above the water’s surface. I was just about finished when I looked back and saw her standing on the dock and gazing across the lake. Only she can say what she might have been thinking at that moment, but she seemed transfixed by the mist, contemplating the scene in from of her. Given the slight halo around her head, she was probably reviewing her photos. It’s very serene and a moment I’m happy to have been able to capture and carry with me.

I was going for high depth of field to show some of the details in the swirling fog and a faster shutter to compensate for the brightness of the fog. It had a nice effect on the overall lighting.

Nikon D300
Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 @ 24mm
1/640 sec, f/13.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website
http://www.edlehming.com

One thought on ““Contemplation” – Marble Lake

Leave a Reply

