“Snowshoe Tracks on Ahmik Lake”

“Snowshow Tracks on Ahmik Lake”

While winter has been slow to arrive in southern Ontario this year (we’re in fog and rain right now), that was not the case last year. The image above was made last winter on Ahmik Lake, near Parry Sound, Ontario. It had snowed gently most of the night, partially obscuring the tracks of others and was quite cold, but the day quickly brightened up. At the top left of this image is an island which I set out to explore in the morning. The snow on the lake was too deep to just walk on, so I donned my snowshoes and headed out.

As I got back to the cabin, I looked back and saw the scene I’m sharing today. It’s an interesting introspection on the ‘why’s’ of our journeys. When I set out, I headed straight toward the end of the island, but there are rises, drifts, and other structures in the way of a straight walk, so I recalibrated a few times. It’s interesting that these ‘objects’ to not appear on the photo very well, but they were there and very real. Then I adjusted my path a few more times. I can’t think right now why, but it was probably to get a different view of something interesting on the shoreline of the island.

The analogy here is: when looking at my path, you would have no idea why I did not just make my way directly to my destination. Even I, having made the journey, can’t explain the whole thing, only that I made it and enjoyed the experience.

Nikon D300
Nikor 70-300 mm f/4.5-5.6, @ 75mm
1/400 sec, f/10.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website
http://www.edlehming.com

One thought on ““Snowshoe Tracks on Ahmik Lake”

  1. Sukanya Ramanujan

    It’s a great photograph and the experience is a bit like life itself- you can never really remember why you did the things you did but you did them anyway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

