“Empire State Building” – West 34th & Broadway

“Empire State Building” - West 34th St. & Broadway

“I get a little romantic about the old Empire State. Just looking at it makes me want to play some Frank Sinatra tunes and sway a little. I have a crush on a building. I’d been in there several times but never to work. I always knew there were offices in there but the face never penetrated, really. You don’t work in the Empire State Building. You propose in the Empire State Building. You sneak a flask up there and raise a toast to the whole city of New York.” – Maureen Johnson

What’s a trip to New York City without a photo of the iconic Empire State Building, as it soars high above midtown Manhattan? What really struck me was just how eye-catching it is. The sun reflects beautifully from the walls from nearly every angle I saw it from, which were numerous. In the image above I tried to incorporate much of the street and surrounding buildings, some quite modern and others hearkening back to earlier times.

This image was made mid-morning, and as I stated in earlier posts, the New York light is something unexpected, as it reflects from the skyscrapers into the streets below. I was really expecting street level to be darker, but there is a constant soft glow everywhere I looked.

Nikon D300
Tamron 17-50 mm f/2.8 @ 17 mm
1/500 sec, f/11.0, ISO 400

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

