“Astor Hall Arches” – New York Public Library

“Astor Hall Arches” - New York Public Library

“Have you remembrances, the glimmering arches that span the summits of the mind?”
– Khalil Gibran

Inside the front doors of the new York Public Library, is Astor Hall, the grand foyer, with it’s high ceilings and barrel arches. When you walk in, you cannot help but look up and around this vast space of bright, intricately carved marble. I can put myself back to a time when this was being built and stone masons hoisted the marble slabs high on scaffolds, put them in place with experienced precision and carvers went to work adorning the arches and panels.

The hall itself is not decorated much and I’m partial to that treatment, so as not to distract from the beauty of the architecture itself. Knowing something of the process involved in constructing these vast spaces, I have a certain reverence for them and try to capture some of that feeling in  my photographs.

Because of the dim lighting in this place I had to break from my ISO 200 rule and let the camera select the most appropriate value. Indoor photography is not where my heart is, but there is beauty everywhere and I wanted to be able to portray that here.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-200 mm f/2.8 @ 70 mm
1/60 sec, f/2.8, ISO 2000

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

