“Forest Floor Melt”

“Forest Floor Melt”

“Life is only a flicker of melted ice.” ― Dejan Stojanovic

Along the trails lie small depressions, filled with water, and lined in ice. The ground beneath still frozen as the sun gently warms the ground, freeing the scene from winter’s hold.

This scene, though it repeats every year, was particularly interesting, since it was such a mild winter and the only significant snowfall happened only a week ago. The result was very clean ice and snow, without significant dust and dirt contamination, making the ice quite white, rather than the usual gray. The trails, despite this late snowfall, were surprisingly icy, making my hike a bit treacherous, as I’m carrying my camera gear with me and really don’t want to fall.

The forecast, here in southern Ontario is for a warmer than usual spring, and I for one, am looking forward to that and continuing to get out there and document my experinces.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-200 mm f/2.8 @ 190 mm
1/125 sec, f/5.6, ISO 250

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Forest Floor Melt”

  1. Sabiscuit

    Gorgeous capture, Ed. I really understand the tenative steps you have to make while hiking with expensive camera gear. I hope you’ll enjoy many more great days outdoors. xo

    Reply
  2. lauramacky

    There is something about the balance of words and photo. You have the writing gift for sure. I love how I was drawn into the image because of what you wrote. Well done on both counts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

