“Across the Lake” – Niagara-on-the-Lake

“Across the Lake” - Niagara-on-the-Lake

“We live in a world of contrast and it’s sad we are among people who can’t seem to grasp the differences surrounding them.”
― Dominic Riccitello

An interesting view, looking between the vineyards at Konzelmann Wineries. As I drove down the appropriately named Lakeshore Drive, I looked to my left and noticed the CN Tower and skyscrapers of Toronto, some 32 miles distant, on the horizon, between the orderly rows of grapevines.

I had to stop and capture this unique view. As I stood at the edge of the fields a local resident pulled into their driveway across the road. I told her she had a beautiful view and she agreed, wholeheartedly, but also reminded me how cold it can be here in the winter, as the northern winds blow across Lake Ontario.

The surreal contrast between this rural scene of farmland stretching to the lake and the bright, modern city on horizon really struck me and prompted this photo. It also struck me, that as I drove around the area, we often forget what really lies across the horizon. It could be home, or another land altogether.

Nikon D300
Tamron 70-200 mm f/2.8 @ 200 mm
1/200 sec, f/7.1 ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

2 thoughts on ““Across the Lake” – Niagara-on-the-Lake

Leave a Reply

