“Forest Floor Companions”

“Forest Floor Companions”

“I am learning my way toward something that will make sense of my life, and I learn by going where I have to go, with whatever companions I am graced.” 
― Dean Koontz

At the base of a dead beech tree, these companions add brightness and life, among the dead and decomposing elements surrounding them.

For some unknown reason, the large beech trees in this local forest all died a few years ago. Many of them are very large and old, so it may just be a cycle, as there are many younger trees thriving in the same area. The die-off started a few years back and most of the elders are gone now, the bark peeling off their massive trunks,  branches falling to the ground with every passing winter. I also suspect a new housing development nearby may have altered the water table, ever so slightly, as to affect the older trees. The forest seems a bit ‘wetter’ than usual.

Yet, among all this death, spring offers her bounty of fresh life, in the form of wildflowers, growing in abundance at the base of these dead trees. There are Spring Beauties (Claytonia virginica), also known by some as May Flowers or Fairy Spuds (the roots and flowers are edible), with their bright pink faces and delicate stems. Then there are also Trout Lilies with their mottled leaves and bright yellow flowers. Mixed in among them, though not pictured here are red and white trilliums, to name the most predominant in my area. It seems every year there are more, which is wonderful to see.

To think a few short years ago I would walk these same trails and never notice anything but the white trilliums. There is something to be said for slowing down and just looking. It’s amazing what we can see, if we take the time.

Nikon D800
Tamron 70-200 mm f/2.8 @ 200 mm
1/125 sec, f/5.6, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

7 thoughts on ““Forest Floor Companions”

  1. Healing through Photography

    “It’s amazing what we can see if we take the time” – completely agree!

    Reply
  2. Christinecroucher@execulink.com

    I find your spring forest images striking with much more depth of field than I can get at 200 mm. Do you take a tripod with you on your walks? Or are you positioning yourself some distance from your focus area? As always, I look forward to seeing your images.

    Reply
    1. Ed Lehming Photography Post author

      I’m shooting with a Tamron 70-200 f2.8 at low ISO to force me into narrow depth of field. I shot hand-held as much as possible and all my recent images have been hand held. I just bought a Nikon D800, so full frame will enhance the effect even more. Thanks for the positive comments and the follow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

