“Pink Magnolias” – Edwards Gardens, Toronto

“Pink Magnolias” - Edwards Gardens, Toronto

“You saw a fluttering fan before her face and magnolia blooms and sleepy lakes under the moonlight when she walked.” 
— Zora Neale Hurston

The last time I visited Edwards Gardens in Toronto I must have been about 6 years old. It used to be a favoured destination for my family, as both my father and grandmother were avid gardeners. I vaguely recall the place, remembering only the amazing patches of colour   of mid-summer blossoms.

I went back yesterday, with my wife, as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations. My goal being to conjure up old memories, and make some nice photos, as well as taking her to a place from my past that she had not visited yet. Not surprisingly, there were lots of tulips and daffodils but I was pleasantly surprised at how many of the park’s numerous magnolias were still showing off many healthy blossoms. Most of the trees in my neighbourhood had already shed their blooms and progressed to leaf.

The subject above was just starting to fade in patched but for the most part was still in glorious bloom. Having visited so many years ago, and in summer, I was not really expecting to see this wonderful colour and I am glad we dropped in here for a stroll among the trees and flowers.

Nikon D800
Tamron 70-200 mm f/2.8 @ 200 mm
1/200 sec, f/7.1, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

