Thursday Doors – May 25, 2016

“Munk Institute Doors” - University of Toronto

Walking along Toronto’s Bloor Street West, I came across these wonderful doors. The Munk Institute is part of the University of Toronto campus and I’ve admired them often, as I walked past. Today the light was just right. Much to my surprise, I had never noticed the details in the stonework above the door and topping the pillars. Have a closer look.

Interestingly, many of the compositional elements that enhance this image are subconscious when I make the photo. It’s one of those scenes that appeal to me, but I can’t articulate the ‘why’ till I look closely at the final image.

Nikon D800
Tamron 70-200 mm f/2.8 @ 70 mm
1/80 sec, f/4.5, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

17 thoughts on “Thursday Doors – May 25, 2016

      1. Ed Lehming Photography Post author

        Thanks! One of the joys of photography is looking back at the images and realizing just how much our eyes miss when observing a scene. I never even noticed the gargoyles on the columns.

Leave a Reply

