“Altar of St. John the Baptist” – St. Patrick’s Cathedral, New York

“Altar of St. John the Baptist” - St. Patrick’s Cathedral, New .jpg

And he was preaching, and saying, “After me One is coming who is mightier than I, and I am not fit to stoop down and untie the thong of His sandals. “I baptized you with water; but He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.” – Mark 1:7-8

Existing light photography offers its challenges and rewards. This wonderful statue of St. John the Baptist, in New York’s St. Patrick’s cathedral is a good example of how existing light can enhance the image. The light is soft and warm and produces a sense of peace, at least for me. The light falls off a bit near the top of the image, bringing out the details of the face.

That’s the benefit, the challenge is having to use a high ISO often introduces unwanted noise, which used to be a significant issue with 35 mm film, but is less of an issue with our modern DSLRs and editing software.

I made several other images while visiting this great metropolitan cathedral, which I will share over time.

Nikon D300
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 70 mm
1/60 sec, f/2.8, ISO 1000

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

