Thursday Doors – June 02, 2016

“Bloor Street United Church Doors” - Toronto

“Therefore, a search for God’s will should begin on your knees. He will meet you there. Remember that Jesus promised, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you” (Matthew 7:7).”
― James Dobson

I made this image the same day as my last post of teh Munk School of Global Affairs. The two building as quite close together on Toronto’s Bloor Street West.

As with so many other doors I am now photographing, I have walked past them many times, admiring the elements that make them unique. With these particular doors, the bright red paint is the first thing you see, then the orange columns, etc. The thing that amazes me, when reviewing the photos is just how many interesting elements the eye misses on first impressions.

The “No Parking” sign annoyed me, since I could not ‘frame it out” in my composition, and I considered editing it out. But, it’s because of the sign that I was able to make a photo of the doors, without cars blocking the view. So, it becomes important to the photo. It also adds some interesting messaging.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200 mm
1/50 sec, f/16.0, ISO 6400

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on “Thursday Doors – June 02, 2016

  1. Norm 2.0

    Nice one Ed and I agree with your decision. I don’t mind editing out elements that distract or are not relevant to the image I’m trying to create, but the purist in me always feels like I’m cheating. In this case, in my opinion the sign does not diminish the image but only highlights the fact that it’s a real street shot.
    BTW, you seem to be having lots of fun with that D800 🙂

    Reply
    1. Ed Lehming Photography Post author

      Thanks Norm. As I said, if I could have achieved the shot with a different angle, I likely would have. However, to your point, the sign keeps it authentic and relevant. Yes, the D800 is my dream camera and I’m loving the images I can make with it. I still have my D300 but they really are night and day in performance, especially in terms of noise at higher ISO.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

