“Emerald Jewelwing” – Whitevale, Ontario

“Emerald Jewelwing” - Whitevale

“Despite its dark veins, the transparency of dragonfly’s wings assures me of a pure, innocent world”
― Munia Khan

Ah, warm weather walks. As plants grow taller and spread across the forest floors, their insect companions abound and show in ever increasing displays of colour and variety. Some are tougher to photograph than others. This female emerald jewelwing, with her distinctive black body and white wing spots, is fairly common around here, but they tend to be a bit skittish with movement. This time she cooperated and posed nicely on a lime green leaf, making her stand out even more.

I have not seen many males yet. They are metallic green in colour and I’m sure they will show up shortly too.

As more wildlife begins to show itself, I’m finding myself gravitating towards it and away from plants. I hope those following my blog aren’t too disappointed?

Nikon D800
Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G I AF-S VR Zoom @300mm

1/160sec, f/6.3, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

