“June Daisies” – Whitevale, Ontario

"June Daisies" - Whitevale, Ontario

“Daisies, simple and sweet. Daisies are the way to win my heart.”
― Patrick Rothfuss

As the quote above says, “Daisies, simple and sweet”. Daisies abound at this time of year. They seem as commonplace as dandelions, yet there is a beautiful simplicity to them that sets them apart from their meadow companions. Perhaps hearkening back to childhood, when I would pick bunches for my grandmother on my way home from school. They lent themselves to that kind of activity, never wilting or seeming to care about their rough transport in the hands of a child.

Or, perhaps it’s the purity of the white petals and the sun-like centres. I don’t know for certain, but I don’t believe I’ll ever tire of daisies. For me they symbolize purity, innocence, and the promise of warm summer days spent wandering through nature, drinking her sights and sounds. Just the thought of it brings a smile to my face.

Nikon D800
Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G I AF-S VR Zoom @ 300mm

1/160 sec, f/5.6 ISO 220

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

