“Brown Dragonfly” – Secord Forest

“Brown Dragonfly” - Secord Forest

“A dragonfly can spend up to several years underwater until it is strong enough to surface, shed its skin and evolve into this beautiful creature. Then it flies free among us but only for a very brief period of up to 2 months before it dies” – Unknown

I spent quite a bit of time searching for the actual name of this species, with not much luck. There are some 5,000 species of dragonflies, each distinguishes by some subtle marking, or pattern. Perhaps an insect enthusiast can enlighten me. Part of my photography discipline is learning about the subjects I photograph and I went a bit ‘bug-eyed’ looking this one up, pardon the pun.

Since upgrading my camera a few weeks ago, I have been venturing out, knowing that noise and cropping were no longer big issues to me. My Nikon D800 performs consistently in almost any lighting condition and I tend to be less timid to do close crops in post production yielding results like the dragonfly pictured above.

In the case of this well posed dragonfly, it was a matter of time waiting for one of the dozens flitting and darting around to light on the branch. It did not take long for that composition to be realized. I went for a higher aperture, to keep the entire dragonfly in focus and the light was quite good, so my ISO was not too high. I’m quite pleased with this.

Nikon D800
Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G I AF-S VR Zoom @ 300mm

1/60 sec, f/10.0 ISO 220

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

3 thoughts on ““Brown Dragonfly” – Secord Forest

Leave a Reply

