“Pearl Crescents on Maple Leaf” – Secord Forest

“Pearl Crescents on Maple Leaf” - Secord Forest

“Everything in me feels fluttering and free, like I could take off from the ground at any second. Music, I think, he makes me feel like music.”
― Lauren Oliver

I’m finding these wonderful small butterflies everywhere lately. In this case, what I believe to be a mating pair, based on the slight size differences and colouration. It was interesting to watch numerous butterflies floating around in search of a suitable mate. There are other small orange butterflies, called ‘skippers’, who get inadvertently drawn into  the  amourous dances of the Crescents, but only briefly.

Nikon D800
Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G I AF-S VR Zoom @ 300mm

1/160 sec, f/6.3 ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

5 thoughts on ““Pearl Crescents on Maple Leaf” – Secord Forest

  1. Sally

    The bright colours and shallow DOF attracted my eye. Butterflies aren’t the easiest to photograph (at least for me) … thanks for posting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

