“Hobblebush Blossoms” – Secord Forest

“Hobblebush Blossoms” - Secord Forest

“I must have flowers, always, and always.”
― Claude Monet

This strange, flowering bush has fascinated me for some time. The blossoms form from the outside of the flower disc. I had a hard time finding good specimen this year but the photo above should suffice. The central bud clusters are rimmed with beautiful white blossoms. At first glance it would appear to be a form of dogwood, that is till you get closer and inspect the bright white flowers. It’s quite unique and the flowers are pure white. I’ve spotted then in open fields and deeper in the forest but he always catch my attention with their bright flowers.

This bush is one of several growing along the trail that leads into secord Forest, south of Uxbridge, Ontario and I just another testimony to the diverse flora and fauna that call this sanctuary home.

I was on my way into the forest to check on a group of orchids I would like to photograph in bloom. Sadly, after a long mosquito plagued hike, the orchids are still a day or two away from blooming. The flower buds have formed, so its just a matter of time. I’m really hoping to catch them before they fade or someone picks them.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 195 mm
1/320 sec, f/9.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Hobblebush Blossoms” – Secord Forest

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Yes. Viburnum 😉
    The reason for the different flowers: the small, central flowers are male and the large, outer are female. Pollination 😄 No need for a second plant, but don’t have a perfect flower (one that has both male and female parts).
    Some hydrangea do this also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

