“Daisy and the Darkness”- Secord Forest

“Daisy and the Darkness” - Secord Forest

“Do not let your difficulties fill you with anxiety, after all it is only in the darkest nights that stars shine more brightly.”
― Hazrat Ali Ibn Abu-Talib A.S

Hmm, this sounds like the title for a love story involving some damsel and some adversary.

This single daisy shone like a beacon in the distance, against the dark forest, as I turned a bend in the trail a few days ago. It was so singularly bright that nothing else registered to me. As I neared, a few background details started to emerge in my vision, but it was still that single, brilliant daisy that dominated.

I was hoping to capture that brilliance and singularity in this photo and I believe I have. My camera allows me to set ‘center-weighted exposure’ to an 8mm diameter, though it’s not a go-to setting for me. I do, however, have it set in my camera menu for the odd time I use it, as in this image. This allowed me to set exposure correctly for the bright white petals, while keeping the background near black, still showing some of the green stem.

In reflecting back on the image, it looks like a rend in the forest’s cloth of darkness.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200mm
1/400 sec, f/10.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Daisy and the Darkness”- Secord Forest

Leave a Reply

