“White Cosmos” – Stouffville

“White Cosmos” - Stouffville

“Everything made by human hands looks terrible under magnification–crude, rough, and asymmetrical. But in nature, every bit of life is lovely. And the more magnification we use, the more details are brought out, perfectly formed, like endless sets of boxes within boxes.”
― Roman Vishniac

A return to the garden, where early summer flowers are beginning to show their stuff.

This beautiful white cosmos was glowing so brilliantly in the morning sun, I could not resist stepping outside my door and making a few close up photos.

As I’ve mentioned in a few recent posts, I just purchased a set of manual macro extension tubes and am experimenting with the different effects the varying length of tubes produce. In this case, I used my Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-f/5.6 zoom lense with a 14mm extension tube. This combination gave me a little more depth of field, yet allowed me to get a fairly close up shot.

Once again, the fine details that the human eye misses surprises me. Things like the gentle fold of the petals and the bits of pollen are barely noticeable until you get close up.

Nikon D800
Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G I AF-S VR Zoom @ 150mm (14mm extension tube)

1/1000 sec, f/5.6, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

8 thoughts on ““White Cosmos” – Stouffville

  1. Sherry Felix

    Lovely flower and I love how you photographed it. I’d love to see it a bit larger so I could see the detail. I use the link tool to make mine open to an image 1200 wide. I hope you don’t mind my suggestion: I would kill the green at the right and make it so the color around the flower is almost uniform. The green pulls my eye from the flower. I’d tackle it in Lightroom or Photoshop. You may not like to mess with your photos that way 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ed Lehming Photography Post author

    I’m also considering pushing out a link to 500px, where I have started posting again. Also, about one a week I post updated photos at high resolution to my website. But, I work a full time job and time is precious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

