“Dogbane Blossoms” – near Maynooth, Ontario

“Dogbane Blossoms” - near Maynooth, Ontario

“The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quite alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be and that God wishes to see people happy, amidst the simple beauty of nature.  
Anne Frank

Such a menacing name for such a beautiful, delicate flower. But, the Dogbane plant’s latin name, apocynum cannabinum, means “poisonous to dogs”.

This is another new plant to me. I noticed the white/pink blossoms as I was photographing a nearby creek, so I made a photo of the flowers and leaves, intent on identifying it at a later time.

This year, I have been much more deliberate about learning about the plants and animals I encounter during my time in nature. I’ve spent my whole life enjoying the outdoors, hiking, hunting, and fishing ,but never really cared much about the names of the lesser known plants. It’s been a great year and I have expanded my knowledge significantly. I’m also more observant about the cycles of these plants and where to find them. It has given me a great deal of pleasure and sense of being connected with the cycles of nature.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD @ 200 mm
1/125 sec, f/5.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

