“I Stand Alone” – Markham, Ontario

“I Stand Alone” - Markham, Ontario

“Writing is something you do alone. Its a profession for introverts who want to tell you a story but don’t want to make eye contact while doing it.”
― John Green

This must be the most photographed tree in Markham, a community just south of my home. This oak stands at the top of a convenient mound, nicely isolating the tree from any distracting background. It’s not a true ‘solitaire’ by my definition, as there is a companion tree not to far from it, but it neighbour is not nearly as nicely shaped as this one is.

The tree stand on this hill, in the middle of a local farm field and the road runs next to it, offering many opportunities to pull over and make a photograph. Many times, while driving past, I’ve witness a photographer or two capturing their own image of this beauty.

I made this image a few days ago, on a warm early summer morning. The sun was just high enough to light it well, without being overly bright and still casting some warm hues on the leaves and the freshly harvested field. All that’s missing, in my opinion, is s few puffy summer clouds and I would be happy to stare at it for hours, almost feeling the warm sun and hearing the insects buzzing.

Nikon D800
Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G I AF-S VR Zoom
@ 220 mm
1/250 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

7 thoughts on ““I Stand Alone” – Markham, Ontario

  1. Sally

    Ed, I like this image sans clouds. It has a simple, almost stark quality, focussing the eye (mine anyway) entirely on the lone tree

    Reply

Leave a Reply

