“Garden Lilies”

“Garden Lilies”

“The simple things come back to us. They rest for a moment by our ribcages then suddenly reach in and twist our hearts a notch backward.”
― Colum McCann

Sometimes, it’s the simple beauty that is so close and so familiar that we take for granted, rather, seeking something exotic and exciting in so many aspects of our lives.

I’ve found myself in this situation so many times with respect to my photography. Surely, at least based on the gorgeous images we are inundated with, there are so much more beautiful things to photograph, in exotic and far flung locations?

Why is this? I walk into my backyard and survey the flowers and plants growing there, wondering if someone else, in a distant country is having the same thoughts and feelings? Then, I realize, that for that person, my location is far away and exotic. The plants, so commonplace in my garden are inaccessible to them and I need recognize just how special the here and now are.

Then, I look again at these lovely pink lilies, dripping with morning dew, and am thankful for this simple beauty, that requires no travel to enjoy, other than a fews steps down to the yard. I also consider the many recent forest hikes and all the wonder the world presents me with, here and now. I suppose I slip, occasionally, into the ‘grass is greener’ mentality, looking for ‘better’ when I already have treasure in my sights, daily.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 125 mm
1/80 sec, f/4.5, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

Leave a Reply

