“Isolated Lilies”

“Isolated Lilies”

“If you meet a loner, no matter what they tell you, it’s not because they enjoy solitude. It’s because they have tried to blend into the world before, and people continue to disappoint them.”
― Jodi Picoult

I’ve been having some fun experimenting with the lilies in my yard. Yesterday, I caught them, mist covered in morning light, a bit softer and warmer, never noticing the subtle change in colour to more of a peach colour.

A few days prior, I photographed the same lilies, two still in bud. I liked the composition but had trouble isolating them from the background foliage, while using a smaller aperture to keep the entire blossom in focus.

So, I thought I’d isolate them be separating the pinks from the green via layers in Photoshop. I created a simple layer mask and switched the background to a darker black and white, making the lilies pop out from the background. I like the look and will continue to play with this, as I think it has potential to be more.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 140 mm
1/160 sec, f/14.0, ISO 3200

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

8 thoughts on ““Isolated Lilies”

  1. stgrundy

    Hi Ed, I agree with you on this one. The de-saturated background really makes the flowers stand out. Sometimes I like the color contrast of green against the colors of flowers and sometimes it is too much competition. Good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

