Falls at “The Gut” – Apsley, Ontario

Falls at “The Gut” - Apsley, Ontario

“There is a hidden message in every waterfall. It says, if you are flexible, falling will not hurt you!”
― Mehmet Murat ildan

As many of you who follow my blog might know, I love moving water and waterfalls. A few years ago, I set out to discover and document the many waterfalls and cascades in the area where I camp.

My journeys have taken me down some long, little travelled trails, across private property (which took some negotiating), and right next to major roadways. Hours have been spent enjoying the flow of water, relaxing on the shore after some strenuous hikes, and just taking in the raw beauty which is Ontario’s backcountry.

About a year ago, I shared this documentary journey with a friend of mine who also likes waterfalls and he asked me if I had visited “The Gut” yet. That surprised me. I had never heard of “The Gut”. He suggested I look it up and pay a visit.

Yesterday, I did just that. I Googled it and found out a bit more about it. The name intrigued me, as well as photos others had posted. So, on my way home from my camper I set out to find this place, relying on roadside signage to guide me.

I came across a sign on the highway that pointed to “The Gut” and it indicated that my destination was 14 km away. This turned out to be 14 km of hilly, winding, dirt road, with no further signs to indicate my progress. Finally, at the top of a particularly steep hill, another sign indicated that I had arrived.

After parking the car my wife and I proceeded down a trail marked “The Gut Falls”.It was a short, steep hike but we found our final destination, a heavy fence installed to keep distracted hikers from falling into the Gut, a fissure in the local basalt lava rock, some 30 meters high and between 5 to 10 meters across. The Crowe Rivers flows through this steep walled feature, beginning with the waterfall pictured above. I have several other photos which I will post over the next few days.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 70 mm
1/10 sec, f/32.0, ISO 100

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

8 thoughts on “Falls at “The Gut” – Apsley, Ontario

  1. joannesisco

    I too am a big fan of waterfalls – and water in general. There is something very calming and mesmerizing about it.

    You worked really hard for this waterfall. I’m not sure I would have had the perseverance to keep going down an unknown dirt road for 14k.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: “Down the Gut” – Apsley, Ontario | Ed Lehming Photography

  3. Pingback: Falls at “The Gut” – Apsley, Ontario – Hello Creatives

Leave a Reply

