“The Hollow” – Papineau Creek

“The Hollow” - Papineau Creek

“We don’t realize that, somewhere within us all, there does exist a supreme self who is eternally at peace.”
― Elizabeth Gilbert

My wife and I discovered this magical place a few years ago on a “fall colours” tour of the area where we spend our summers. I was following the local waterways, looking for a few named waterfalls when I came across this place, who’s location I will not divulge.

The locals, apparently, call it the “Hollow”. It is a wonderful, private park, just off the highway, yet unmarked and hard to find. The Hollow is a deep swimming hole, just beneath a beautiful set of rapids on Papineau Creek, in North Hastings.

On this day, the water was warm, the bugs were few, and we spend several hours in the water and lying on the shore, just enjoying the peace here. It’s the kind of place I could spend hours, just unwinding and enjoying the wonderful, peaceful places nature has provided. Staring up at summer clouds and the circling dragonflies, oblivious to the world.

This is a place I will return to, time and time again, just to drink in the beauty and think back on simpler times, when life slows down, the sun warms my face, and I smile at creation. This, is living in the moment.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 70 mm
1/250 sec, f/8.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

 

2 thoughts on ““The Hollow” – Papineau Creek

Leave a Reply

