Thursday Doors – July 28, 2016

“Kensington Barbershop Door”

This week’s submission to Norm 2.0‘s Thursday Doors.

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favourite door photos from around the world.

Once more, it’s not just the doors, but the items around them that are captivating me. This is not a deliberate thing. As I compose the photo, there is ‘something’ subconscious that makes the image ‘good’ in my mind. I usually don’t know what that is till I process it and suddenly, that ‘something’ is revealed.

I just had this same conversation with a professional photographer friend of mine and he has had the same experience, though now, he’s more aware of it and is looking for exactly what that something is, before making the image.

That’s one of my reasons for blogging, to deliberately look at my photos and consider why I made them and improve through that internal, now external, dialogue.

These doors are the entrance to a barbershop in Toronto’s Kensington area. Kensington is a busy, somewhat quirky area, filled with markets and small boutiques. It’s got a real bohemian feel and I just a fun place to people watch and hunt for bargain and handcrafted items.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 117 mm
1/2100 sec, f/5.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

28 thoughts on “Thursday Doors – July 28, 2016

  1. lauramacky

    So colorful! The history of a barber pole is interesting: The red and white pole outside barber shops references a time when barbers were expected to perform bloodletting and other medical procedures to heal the sick; red represented blood and white represented bandages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

