“Bruce County Roadside”

"Bruce County Roadside"

“The fields…are white already to harvest” (John 4:35 KJV), or as other versions put it, “ripe for harvest.”…One part of the harvest metaphor we may have missed was the importance of timing-there is a season for both sowing and reaping, and sometimes there is a season of simply waiting and watering.”
― Keri Wyatt Kent

I just got back from a few days in Ontario’s Bruce County. The region offers rolling farmlands, long sandy beaches, and some of the most spectacular sunsets in Canada along the shores of Lake Huron (which, being 183 miles wide, is almost like an inland sea).

As we drove to our destination, the beachfront at Sauble Beach, I had to stop several times to make photos of the spectacular landscapes that spread before me.

This is one of my favourite times of year to photograph Ontario’s rural landscapes. The contrast between the deep blue sky and the golden fields of grain is quite striking. Add to the mix a few wispy clouds and you can almost feel the warm air and hear the sounds of crickets chirping. As I stood by the roadside making this image I could smell the grain in the air and even though the grand scene spread before me, I was still drawn to the wildflowers in the foreground, delicate white Queen Anne’s Lace and the bright purple Ontario Thistle.

Nikon D300
Tamron 17-50 mm f/2.8 @ 31 mm
1/320 sec, f/9.0 ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

22 thoughts on ““Bruce County Roadside”

  1. snowtoseas

    Ontario is absolutely incredible. I currently live out of the province (and country for that matter), but every day, I realize Ontario’s beauty more and more. I think it will be time to go back soon. On a side note, we have the same lens. It’s a great one. Your photos are really amazing too.

    Reply
  2. joannesisco

    Ed, not only are your photos beautiful, but your descriptions of them and your feelings while capturing them are poetic. This one is no exception.

    This photo screams *summer* to me!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: “Abandoned Church” – Bruce County Road 10 | Ed Lehming Photography

  4. Carlos

    I know the Bruce. We purchased a trailer out up that way on a camp ground. It’s Ontario’s hidden treasure! A wonderful area that feels like home already!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

