“Geranium”

“Geranium”

“Long experience has taught me that people who do not like geraniums have something morally unsound about them. Sooner or later you will find them out; you will discover that they drink, or steal books, or speak sharply to cats. Never trust a man or a woman who is not passionately devoted to geraniums.”
― Beverley Nichols

I found the quote hilarious. The quote is from Merry Hall, a book about the restoration of a home and garden in post-war England. The author is a devout horticulturalist.

Fortunately, I do like geraniums, so I should be OK on that account.

Back to the studio flowers for a while. Actually, the “studio” is outside on my deck and I used diffused sunlight to make this image against a black background. The effect of the black background allows the flowers and their delicate structure to really reveal themselves. I’m quite enjoying this style and am working on a portable background that I can take with me on my hikes. This way I can use the same technique with wildflowers, without disturbing them.

The geranium pictured here is one of many varieties we have in our garden, most given to us by my mother-in-law as she downsized from her house to a smaller apartment, where she had no space to winter over the geraniums. This beautiful pink and red variety seemed a good subject for a photo.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200mm
1/13 sec, f/10.0, ISO 200

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

 

11 thoughts on ““Geranium”

Leave a Reply

