“Bull Thistle”

“Bull Thistle”

“For millions of years flowers have been producing thorns. For millions of years sheep have been eating them all the same. And it’s not serious, trying to understand why flowers go to such trouble to produce thorns that are good for nothing?” ― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Here’s a new one, studio style wildflowers. I was able to get my portable background to work and I’m looking forward to being able to capture more wildflowers in a similar fashion

Though I may not have mentioned it in recent posts, we are experiencing a significant drought here in Southern Ontario. After a fairly wet and cool spring, summer arrived and it’s been hot and dry for three months.

Because of that, the plants are starting to look ‘tired’ and stressed. As I walked today, most of the wildflowers had gone to seed early, and the grasses are dry and yellow. I was hoping to find some chicory, which is usually plentiful this time of year, but even that was sparse and lacked good blooms. I’ll have to expand my hike beyond my neighbourhood to find some more variety over the next few days.

Until then, I’m pleased with how this image turned out and will keep developing by technique.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200 mm
1/5 sec, f/10.0, ISO 200

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

15 thoughts on ““Bull Thistle”

  1. Mama Cormier

    I’m embarrassed to say that it’s taken me this long to come over to your site. When I saw your header I decided to looker further into your blog. Your photos are amazing. Last week on my way up to the cottage I noticed that several cars had stopped and pulled over to the side of the road to take very similar shots of the fields and hay bales. Was that photo taken north of Elmvale?

    Reply
  2. Sally

    Ed, your technique works beautifully. I keep meaning to try some sort of backdrop in the field but haven’t done so yet. Your photos are inspiring, so perhaps I’ll actually try it. 🙂

    Reply
  3. The Showers of Blessing

    Nice picture! My daughter took photography for two semesters – in black and white. Now she takes pictures in color. She took a similar picture like yours. Thank you for liking my new post. They both are recent pictures taken in Arboretums.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

