“Red Canna Lily”

"Canna Lily"

“The single greatest lesson the garden teaches is that our relationship to the planet need not be zero-sum, and that as long as the sun still shines and people still can plan and plant, think and do, we can, if we bother to try, find ways to provide for ourselves without diminishing the world. ”
― Michael Pollan

This specimen came from my flower beds. In fact, this was the first blossom all year, driven by the drought we are experiencing here. I had intended to use my portable outdoor setup, rather than taking a cutting. Since I tend to shoot these at f/10 or higher, the setup also requires a fairly low shutter speed, around 1/10 second. Thus, even a slight movement causes problems in clarity. It’s been a bit breezy here lately and I wanted to capture the blossom before it fades, which happens fairly quickly. Thus I made the decision to cut it and bring it indoors to photograph.

I found the bright red blossoms a challenge in previous attempts to photograph the. Using the studio light ing and paying careful attention to depth of field and contrast, I think I was able to create a nice representation  of the blossoms without the red tones bleeding together which was my previous experience.

All in all, this is my most challenging flower shot yet, using this method and I’m pleased with the outcome.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200 mm
1/10 sec, f/11.0, ISO 200

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

 

8 thoughts on ““Red Canna Lily”

Leave a Reply

