“Goldenrod”

“Goldenrod”

“A weed is but an unloved flower.”
― Ella Wheeler Wilcox

This common north american wildflower has had me scratching my head over the past few years. In our area, it’s a prolific ‘weed’ that grows everywhere. A few years back, while visiting family in British Columbia, I notice people had them planted in their gardens and several seed companies offer them in their catalogues. They are beautiful, but I had not imagined them deliberately putting them in my garden.

There is also a misconception that this plant is the source of many allergic reactions. I’ve looked that up and discovered that the goldenrod pollen is too big and sticky to be inhaled deeply enough to cause an allergic reaction. It’s the companion plant, ragweed, which grows at the same time that’s the true culprit.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200 mm
1/5 sec, f/11.0, ISO 200

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

7 thoughts on ““Goldenrod”

  1. Pete Hillman

    Beautiful photo Ed. We have planted Canadian Goldenrod as garden flowers for many years over here. It is one of my favourite flowers, although mine are coming to an end now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

