“Pink Clematis Blossom”

“Pink Clematis Blossom”

“Everything made by human hands looks terrible under magnification–crude, rough, and asymmetrical. But in nature every bit of life is lovely. And the more magnification we use, the more details are brought out, perfectly formed, like endless sets of boxes within boxes.”
― Roman Vishniac

I dug this from my archive of macro experiments from earlier this year. The clematis looks, to me, like some creature from a sci-fi movie or some deep sea creature.

Macro photography is something relatively new to me and I enjoy seeing details that my eye would miss. Very much like my experiences when I go on hikes. I tend to see things which I photograph and then have friends ask me where the photo was made, only to discover it was just down the road from them and that they had passed that place many times without noticing it. I just love seeing the beauty in the mundane and have posted many times on that topic.

As I said above, this is one of my early attempts and I used an old 50mm prime lens with manual extensions tubes, not really knowing what I was doing, but I was happy with the results. Not happy enough to post it at the time, but flipping through old images, this one stood out.

I’ve used the quote above before, but it rings so true to me. With macro photography, when photographing nature, it seems that the closer you get, the more complex and beautiful the subject becomes. These are definitely things that most people never take notice of, including me, till now. Nature is truly magnificent!

Nikon D800
Schneider-Kreuznach Exida-Xenon 50mm f/1.9 @ 50mm (14mm extension tube)

1/320 sec, f/1.9, ISO 5600

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

11 thoughts on ““Pink Clematis Blossom”

  1. prior..

    well both the quote and flower are worth sharing again and again!
    😉
    I never heard the quote and it really was interesting –
    and reading your words about the beauty in the ordinary (mundane) shows such a freshness u have – I mean – isn’t that the kind of stuff that keeps us fully alive/
    and actually this post reminded me a bit of Georgia O’Keeffe – was reading about her work a while back and the large flower prints she made (before her southwest work) well she did exactly what you wrote about here / she showed folks what was small and often missed – and by making these eneormsous versions of flower parts – well some say her photographer partner might have helped her “see” what was so tiny, beautiful, and often missed –
    lastly – clematis used to grow right outside my door for years – I took it out because a serious weed was super embedded in the root system – also – I wanted more of a summer bloomer (and the clematis here tended to wane in summer and so I went with a summer bloomer) but I always admired the exact part u showed us here – it is a bit sci-fi too!

    Reply
  2. vlmrhm

    Beauty in life is seen by those who search for it’s beauty. My life is enriched by this continual search and appreciation of beauty. Your post is a reminder of the rewards of our searches.

    Reply
  3. Vikas Singh

    Ed, I keep going through your blogs. But while scrolling through my readers page I just left this blog of yours. While I was just to skip to some other blog I read the statement in the caption. The very first line which mentions that what is man made goes on more and more rough and crude in form as we magnify; also lacking symmetry. But in case of nature the same magnification shows that how symmetrical and managed is the work of nature. That line forced me to click on this blog and I can say that going through the whole blog was as catchy and useful as the first line. Good work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

