“Chicory”

“Chicory”

“Coming out of your comfort zone is tough in the beginning, chaotic in the middle, and awesome in the end…because in the end, it shows you a whole new world !!
Make an attempt..”
― Manoj Arora

This was, in fact, the first wildflower I photographed, five years ago, when I got my first DSLR. Not this actual plant, but a chicory blossom. It was also the beginning of my journey into serious photography, which like the quote above, has not always been easy, but I’m sure glad I stuck with it.

Chicory has always had a natural attraction for me. The plant itself is rugged and seems to grow in the worst soils, in dry clay and along stony roadsides. It resists the heat of mid August and brightens my walks. There is also something about the colour blue in nature. Aside from the sky, blue is not a common colour, so it stands out for me as something unique. The blossoms, despite the tough stalk they grow on, are quite delicate.

This summer’s drought has been tough on even the hardy chicory and good specimens have been tough to find but this one will have to suffice, for now.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 160 mm
1/5 sec, f/22.0, ISO 200

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

4 thoughts on ““Chicory”

  1. Joanne Sisco

    It seems that this summer, the roadsides and open areas were full of chicory. I agree that the colour seems to be what makes it stand out. Too bad the plant itself is rather ugly because the flower is gorgeous.

    Reply
  2. prior..

    I love the blue purple hue you captured so elegantly. And the description was a garden mystery you summed up…. how certain plants do this – shine thru tough weather… and love this “The blossoms, despite the tough stalk they grow on, are quite delicate…”
    best wishes in all of your photography 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

