“Sorrow”

“Sorrow”

“Every man has his secret sorrows which the world knows not; and often times we call a man cold when he is only sad.”
― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
“Pink Cosmos”
Two views of the same flower, a week apart.

Sometimes, I keep the flowers I photograph a bit too long but it was interesting for me to compare the two images.

It also reminded me how gradually things can change without you really noticing them.

I was debating the title of the top image, as sorrow may sound too depressing, but that is the emotion that comes over me in waves the past few days.

You see, my youngest two children, now young adults have recently moved from home in the span of a few days. One to go into college residence, not too far from home, but away, nonetheless. The other, is in third year university, and has chosen to live closer to school to save the long commute he has endured the last two years.

So, while I am happy for their growth and proud of all my children, I still experience moments of sorrow. You see, I still look back at the bright, young flower and all the happy times spent with them as children. I recall bringing each of them home for the first time. And, while they are certainly not the wilted, desiccated flower at the top, I feel I looked away a moment too long and missed the gradual transition. Yet, this reminds me that, like a garden, after a winter of transition, fresh blossoms emerge to replace last year’s beauty.

The cycle continues and ‘sorrow’ becomes a transient thing. I’m looking forward the the gardens my children have planted and continue to nurture.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 155 mm
15 sec, f/22.0, ISO 200

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

13 thoughts on ““Sorrow”

  1. she

    The quote above by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow saddens me personally.
    The wilted flower and the bloomed flower as well. I loved your concept and how you associated how you feel using a flower. And I can certainly under what youre going through.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

