“Hydrangea”

“Hydrangea”

“I’ll admit that my garden now grows hope in lavish profusion, leaving little room for anything else. I suppose it has squeezed out more practical plants like caution and common sense. Still, though, hope does not flourish in every garden, and I feel thankful it has taken root in mine.”
― Sharon Kay Penman

A photo of my neighbour’s hydrangea this time. You see, the hydrangeas we have are white Annabelles and only bloom white. Our neighbours however, have a different variety which blooms pink, due to the alkalinity of the soil. Unless the soil has been amended, hydrangeas in Ontario bloom pink, yet the same variety will bloom blue in regions with acidic soil .

I have seen people try to cheat and buy blue hydrangeas for their gardens, which gradually turn pink, as the soil acidity changes.

I actually like the pink colour. In the case of this hydrangea, you are seeing the back of the blossom. Even though it’s a front on view, the flowers flip over, revealing the beautiful pink colour, while the inside of the blossoms are a creamy white. I’m not sure of the variety of this hydrangea, once more, I lean on the knowledge of those more savvy in the naming of specific plants, but they may be a variety of lacecap.

Another desirable trait of this particular species is that it seems quite drought resistant and despite the intensely hot days and the lack of rain this summer, it seems to have flourished, while my Annabelles have smaller than normal blossoms, many sunburned from many hot, dry days.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200mm with 20mm macro extender
2 sec, f/16.0, ISO 200

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

16 thoughts on ““Hydrangea”

  1. Joanne Sisco

    I have several hydrangeas – nine, in fact, all pink. Half of them went on a crazy flowering spree this summer with great big flower heads. The other half did nothing. I’m attributing it to the fact I put manure down on half this spring to see what the result might be. I’m sold – will be giving them all manure next year.

    I think they’re called Endless Summer and I had to water them a LOT to keep them from wilting completely.

    Reply
      1. Joanne Sisco

        Thanks Ed. My hydrangeas have a northwest exposure so I’m guessing they’re taking a beating from the cold winds.
        I think I’ll try following your advise about pruning and then wrap them like the article suggests.

Leave a Reply

