“Dahlias”

“Dahlias"

“If you take a flower in your hand and really look at it, it’s your world for a moment.”
― Georgia O’Keeffe

I’m continuing to enjoy these studio images. Isolating the flower against the black just keeps the attention on the flower. Even when composing the shot, I see shapes and textures I had not noticed before. I’ve also done a few more macro shots, which I will share at some point. It seems the deeper and closer I go the more incredible the shapes, colours, and textures are.

I can’t recall if I’ve used the Georgia O’Keefe quote before, but it is so true to me, especially when the flower is presented this way. I find myself drawn into that world and I love it.

This grouping shows the flowers at various stages of maturity, with the exception of bud and seed head. It’s been suggested I start using these images for gifts cards, which is what I already do with many of my images.

Nikon D800
Nikor 24-70mm f/3.5-4.6 @ 62mm
1/6 sec, f/20.0, ISO 400

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

15 thoughts on ““Dahlias”

  1. jmnowak

    These are lovely, Ed…purple is a difficult colour to get right, but you’ve done it here, and in others of yours that I’ve seen. Love Georgia’s work too and she certainly had a positive influence in re-generating her husband, photographer Alfred Stieglitz’s career in the second half of his life. A woman way ahead of her time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

