“Pink Dahlias”

“Pink Dahlias”

“If the world were merely seductive, that would be easy. If it were merely challenging, that would be no problem. But I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.”
― E.B. White

I simply had to revisit these beauties. I posted a similar photo earlier this week but was so pleased with the results that I went back for a second look and the outcome is the photo above. The unique way light plays on the flowers with the black background continues to mesmerize me and I honestly have to pinch myself to remind myself that the photo was something that I created. Yes, they have that effect on me.

What started as a bit of an experiment has been so enjoyable and virtually effortless for me. I’m now constantly on the lookout for new plants to photograph this way and am always amazed at the results. I find myself in that Georgia O’Keefe state where I’m drawn deeper into the flower and it temporarily becomes my world. I completely understand where she was coming from.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 62mm
1/6 sec, f/20.0, ISO 400

High Resolution image on 500px:

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

9 thoughts on ““Pink Dahlias”

  1. Suzanne et Pierre

    I also love dalhias and you have made a beauty with this studio shot. You are very good with this type of photos which I have always found difficult to get right. The lighting and composition are so important here and well mastered in your case. (Suzanne)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

