“Sedum”

“Sedum”

“Life is amazing, and it’s awful, and it’s ordinary, mundane and routine, but like the sun behind the clouds, amazing is always there regardless of what is momentarily obscuring it.”
― Maximus Freeman

Once more, I’m not sure of the specific species of this plant, known generally as Sedum, which we affectionately call “Lives Forever”. The name was handed down by various family members and I can understand the rationale for it. This plant is virtually ‘neglect proof’. You can drop a clump of it almost any location and it will grow. It withstands downpours and droughts with no visible sign of stress.

This particular specimen comes from my adopted mother’s garden and I acquired it many years ago when she downsized to an apartment. Numerous portions of that same small clump have been passed on to friends, neighbors, and family. It’s quite funny visiting other gardens and knowing the ‘mother’ plant is in our garden. So, though my mother has passed away, a piece of her remains in our memory and in our gardens.

We like it , particularly in the late summer and mid autumn, when it’s really the only source of colour in the garden, long after other blossoms have died off. Even when it finally succumbs to a heavy frost itself, it still offers interest as the string stems still hold the dead flower-heads erect, even in heavy snows.

Nikon D800
Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD
 @ 200mm
10sec, f/25.0, ISO 400

For more images like this, please visit my Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/EdLehming
or my website (some images available for purchase)
http://www.edlehming.com

6 thoughts on ““Sedum”

  1. Eileen Thompson

    I have four different varieties of Sedum in my small patio garden – I love them for their show, their ease of cultivation and they attract bees and butterflies ( not that I’ve seen any other than the Cabbage White) . So glad to see your pic …..

    Reply
  2. Joanne Sisco

    I have this plant in my garden too, but I had no idea what it was called. All I know for sure is that it grows without any interference from me … something I’m very grateful for 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

